Dry Ash

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Burn Time

Nov 30, 2015
Wisconsin
This is my second winter running a Mansfield, almost entirely on white ash. Here on my farm in southeast Wisconsin, all the ash are dying. I've had some sawn into boards but the firewood supply is endless, just like when the elms died a number of years ago. Ash has a reputation among some for not needing seasoning, so I wanted to share my experience. I've been seasoning some split ash for a few months, but today we were cutting trees that had some leaves last summer but were doomed not to leaf out next spring. We immediately split the logs. My moisture meter measured them at 18%. The "seasoned" ash in my wood shed measured between seven and 10%. I took a new split into my house, where the relative humidity is 35%. Within two hours, the moisture reading on that split dropped from 18% to 14%. I just used it to stoke the stove on hot coals and the fire is roaring, with the intake and stack dampers both open. We have white oak, apple, beech, hickory and maple (and some ironwood). The white ash, while it lasts, is the easiest wood to use. Cut it, split it and burn it.

Some people did in fact believe Ash didn't need to be seasoned. I don't agree with that. The one part of your story that has me concerned in the 7-10% moisture content you're getting on your seasoned stuff. Either your moisture meter is wrong, you're not using the meter correctly, or your seasoned wood is actually kiln dried wood.