Truck Question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

walhondingnashua

Minister of Fire
Jul 23, 2016
ohio
I have a 2015 Silverado with the electric steering. The steering seems, recently, to be softer. Maybe the smallest amount of play but it does have 128,000 miles. Everything under the truck is still tight and it still tracks pretty straight. The tires are old and I do need new ones. I have no experience with the electric steering so I do not know how aging would feel with it. Maybe an alignment but if it drifts in the slightest, it not specific to one side. Any input would be appreciated.

I have a 2015 Silverado with the electric steering. The steering seems, recently, to be softer. Maybe the smallest amount of play but it does have 128,000 miles. Everything under the truck is still tight and it still tracks pretty straight. The tires are old and I do need new ones. I have no experience with the electric steering so I do not know how aging would feel with it. Maybe an alignment but if it drifts in the slightest, it not specific to one side. Any input would be appreciated.
Start with new tires and have tge alignment checked then. It may be something else but I would start there

I wouldn’t be surprised if you’re grtting some wear in the suspension and steering. Ball joints, tie rod ends, etc. trucks have a lot of inertia that needs to be controlled and things like potholes, dirt and grime don’t help part longevity!