Help me understand the Jotul 500

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
May 18, 2013
NC
I have been burning a VC Dutchwest Sequoia for the last twenty years in a 2000sqft single story house. I've rebuilt it a couple of times, replaced the catalytic combustor every couple of years; get up in the middle of the night and stoked it with wood and use wood with a moisture content of 15% to 19%. It has done the job for me. But, it is an old stove with a primary damper and a secondary damper; once the stove temp reaches 500 degrees the primary is closed down and the secondary is tweaked to raise the temp.

Now, I have run across the Jotul 500. A dealer in town is getting rid of the 2018 models for the new ones. How does the combustion air system work? There is ONLY a primary damper control on the lower front of the stove...a slide control. Does that really work? Can you control the burn efficiently with just that one damper? How does the secondary combustion work on the Jotul 500? What are typical prices for the Jotul 500?

Sorry about the elementary questions, but going from a catalytic to a non-catalytic stove is a little un-nerving.
Thanks!