Not Seeing Secondary Combustion - Osburn Inspire Stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Heatman

Oct 30, 2020
Seattle
I've been using my newly installed Osburn Inspire 2000 freestanding stove (with a new insulated SS liner) for a couple of months now, getting to know the stove and learning how to burn properly since I'm new to the game.

My stove works well and puts off decent heat, but I almost never see secondary combustion, even when using decent seasoned wood and filling the firebox up, with flue temps reaching about 600F and firebox temps reaching ~850F. Only a few times have I noticed secondary combustion taking place.

Is it normal for secondary combustion to be relatively rare, or does secondary combustion kick in in ways that are invisible.... or is there something I should be doing differently or troubleshooting?

Thanks for the help!

IMG_6690.JPG

The fire looks good. If there is no smoke then there is secondary combustion. It is not always dramatically visible. Look up under the deflector to the back of the stove.

Reactions: Heatman
How tall is the chimney?

About ~22 feet I believe
It might need a pipe damper.

Edit.. try lighting a top down fire with lots of kindling. You should see the flames wrapping around the air stream from the secondary air holes in the beginning. If it looks like the air is trying to blow the flames out in the beginning you might have to much draft.

Last edited:
Reactions: bigealta
It might need a pipe damper.