Weather station for year-round usage

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Ashful

Minister of Fire
Mar 7, 2012
Philadelphia
I’m tired of getting bad data from weather apps, and having a sight-glass rain gauge that can only be left out in warm weather. I think it’s time to invest in one of the rooftop mounted weather stations I’ve heard others mention, but I’m completely new to the subject, really know nothing about them. Where to start?

Davis and LaCrosse were the kings of the industry 10 years ago. Don't know much about the newer brands that have popped up.

Reactions: Ashful
Hasn’t been wrong yet!

13CB3C9D-9593-47CA-BF10-8120161EED20.jpeg

Never used anything by Davis. I had a LaCrosse station perhaps a decade ago. Never too satisfied with it. Currently using an Ambient Weather station that I like better. There are better ones available, but they are more expensive. I'm using additional sensors to check northern and southern sides of the house, plus some more in various places indoors.

We have the Ambient Weather WS-2902B and it's worked well for several years now.
What I like: solar powered, wireless between sensor station and base and between base and internet by Wi-Fi to my router.
Downsides: really the only one I've found so far is that you need to clean the rainfall sensor out as it collects detritus from trees and such. I'd mount it where you can easily get to it for that.
A really cool feature is that you can share your weather data online to sites like Wunderground and others.