Tree identification

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Btenkhoff

Jan 2, 2024
SE Missouri
I live in missouri and this tree dropped on my property. Any idea what it is? I was going to cut it up this weekend. I was having trouble determining what it was via the web. Also any advice as i am new to using my wood furnace. I have started splitting and stacking on my property. Any woods i need to avoid? I am not sure seasoning a supply of 2-3 years is feasible. Is it okay to get away with 12 months split on hard woods like oak, hickory, walnut etc for seasoning? Just not sure I have the space for a 24 month season split. Thanks for the wisdom in advance.

IMG_1096.jpg IMG_1097.jpg IMG_1098.jpg IMG_1099.jpg

Good point. I figured as much about any wood seasoned works. I hear on occasion "oh that wouldn't make good firewood". In my mind i think "its wood".

Thanks I was wondering if hickory

I will make a way to season longer then. I appreciate the feedback

This may be laughed off, and this does look like smooth bark hickory. But, if you get some split, smell it pretty close to the split part, and if it smells like horse piss, you have hickory.

Reactions: patrickk222
+ 1 for hickory (bitternut ?)

Reactions: patrickk222