PH Combustor after approximately one week of use. Is that normal?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
  • Super Cedar firestarters 30% discount Use code Hearth2024 Click here

fespo

Minister of Fire
Hearth Supporter
Dec 14, 2005
South West burbs of Chicago
As I posted before, I am new with this progressive hybrid stove with a combustor. I cleaned the combustor one week ago to be exact. Last night on a cold night the firewood almost completely choke out once I engaged the combustor so I let the stove cool off this morning and pulled out the combustor. This is what it looks like after one week, is this normal? Thanks

[Hearth.com] PH Combustor after approximately one week of use. Is that normal? [Hearth.com] PH Combustor after approximately one week of use. Is that normal?

Last edited by a moderator:
I don't know your air intake, flue length (ext. or int.) temp gauge location or what you specifically were burning. For one week it does appear to be more clogged than usual although I have never checked mine in one week. Last time I cleaned mine I did it because "that window of opportunity" presented itself and I said it's now or whenever it decides to clog. Anyway, the cat was functioning properly but when I took it out it was evenly clogged (fine grey ash particulate), however I could peer through it from the unclogged end and see light (when it's really bad no light and sometimes I send it off to the vinegar shower). My advice is make sure you are engaging it at the proper temp, and you might want to send that pic to Woodstock for their thoughts. There is/was a learning curve with my Progress...