What is the current thought on solar arrays right now?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Mr. Kelly

Feeling the Heat
Hi all…

I have been kicking the tires of a solar array for nearly 10 years, but have never felt confident enough that I knew enough to pull the trigger. How long can I kick tires?

So here’s where my hesitations still come from… I was contacted by SunRun recently… They indicated that solar loans are still being subsidized significantly, and interest rates haven’t skyrocketed with every other rate in the US. Does this ring true?

Is now a good time to be considering a 14/16 panel array for the top of my house?

What should I be considering before I get back into getting new quotes?

Ned was awesome on here last year when I was looking around last. Are you still on here, Ned?

I can never seem to get to the bottom of whether I would be better off with micro inverters or a single basement inverter. Any new developments in that arena? My house does have partial shading in the winter.

SunRun says that solar panels are more efficient these days, and are suggesting somewhere around 450 kW panels are now fairly common. So, they say I may need less panels.

Is SunRun a reputable company that you think is worthy of consideration? They were trying hard to sell me a lease last year. I had no interest in that. They’ve been calling me nonstop for the last few weeks, and I haven’t had much interest in talking to them yet before I get more info.