Thoughts on replacing insert

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Mack122

Mar 4, 2020
Warren Pennsylvania
I am new to the hearth and hope I am posting this correctly. I have an existing wood burning fireplace insert that has some broken glass and is very dated. The doors leak and the damper is way up inside. However it does burn well and put out Heat. I will post more pictures when I get home and the sizes and measurements. I am looking to either remove it or replace it. Looking for options. Heating around 1500 square foot.

Thoughts on replacing insert

I think you got your money's worth out of that heater. It is time for a modern unit. Pretty sure your dog agrees.

Reactions: Woody Stover
Pretty sure your dog agrees.
;lol Looks like he is saying, "Seriously?"
Remove the old one, get all the fireplace measurements, and start shopping. Just looking, appears that a lot of inserts will fit..

A new insert will burn cleaner with less smoke out the stack, will deposit less creosote in the chimney, and it'll give you more heat with less wood.

Reactions: Mech e
I am new to the hearth and hope I am posting this correctly. I have an existing wood burning fireplace insert that has some broken glass and is very dated. The doors leak and the damper is way up inside. However it does burn well and put out Heat. I will post more pictures when I get home and the sizes and measurements. I am looking to either remove it or replace it. Looking for options. Heating around 1500 square foot.