Rust in Wood Stove - Told I need completely new stove and chimney - Thoughts?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

asalter1

Sep 24, 2019
Maryland
Yesterday I had a chimney company come to do a basic chimney clean on my wood stove. I've been using the wood stove for over 3 years and have it cleaned each year. This year I had to use a new company and they did a chimney inspection along with the clean. When they conducted their inspection, they said I have substantial rust throughout my wood stove and chimney, and said the entire system needed to be replaced because it was unsafe, which they were happy to sell to me. I said I'll pass, and have another company come do an inspection. In the past 3 years, none of the other companies have said anything negative about the chimney or woodstove, except I need to have the clean out plug replaced (which I'm aware of and will be replaced before winter). On top of that, I'm not sure they even put my black piping back together properly inside.

What are you thoughts on this? Is the chimney still safe to use?

See pictures attached.

Thank you!

Attachments

• Rust in Wood Stove - Told I need completely new stove and chimney - Thoughts?
    Clean out plug.PNG
    132.9 KB · Views: 262
    Inside chimney 2.PNG
    109.5 KB · Views: 241
    Inside chimney.PNG
    125.7 KB · Views: 256
    Woodstove.PNG
    92 KB · Views: 260
Things look generally okay in those photos. Give us some pictures of the inside of the firebox and the top of the stack...

Do you get water in the stove when it rains?