Pellets bouncing off of burn pot

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

PelletPirate

Oct 11, 2015
Hudson Valley, NY
Hi Guys,
I was wondering if I could get some thoughts or feedback to a problem I have. I have been burning a Regency GFI55 for 5 years. It has been working like a champ. Late last season and now this season, I have been noticing that pellets are falling out of the burn pot as soon as they come out of the auger. This is then causing build up in front of the burn pot and then a lazy flame which is creating soot on the glass. I have the draft open all the way, a completely cleaned stove with maintained motors and swept chimney. I am burning shoulder pellets (Green Supreme) but I have Turmans and Oakies on order later this month. I am concerned about this black soot and lazy flame created by the pellets burning outside of the burn pot. Any advice/help to address this would be greatly appreciated!

Sorry to hear about your issues but welcome to the forum:) Is this the first time using Green Supreme? Are the holes in the burn pot liner clogging faster than with other fuels used?

Or is the feed continuing until overflowing burnpot? Have you checked your 120 degree thermodisc? This can be temporarily jumped to rule it out. Remember to unplug the stove before working inside the cabinet!

Keep us posted...