Osburn 2400 help!!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

kravvelocity

Nov 8, 2018
syracuse
Hello all,

This is my first full year heating with wood. We got this insert last year bud didn't have dry enough wood to run so this is my first year running it. I have read as many posts as I could before posting. I am running into the same prob lot of people post about. Build up of coals. It really feels like all I am doing is baby sitting this stove all day trying to manage the coal and im not getting great heat out of it. I am only able to hold it around 300-400 degrees. I have read people open the door to cook them down but by then my stove is down to 200 and them I am playing catch up with the stove and house cooling off.

My big question is how do you keep this stove pumping good heat while keeping the coals down. I do rack them forward then add wood to the top. I added a pic. Stove temp is just over 300 in the pic. This has been going since 5am trying to get the house warmed up. My house is 1900 sq ft. I don't expect the whole house to be 75 but its only 68 in the room with the stove.

Thanks for any help!!

Attachments

• Osburn 2400 help!!
    IMG_20191109_121841.jpg
    144.4 KB · Views: 156
Do you have an insulated block off plate above the stove?

No, the installer stuff the area around the pipe with insulation at the bottom and top. No metal tho
Well that's better than nothing but still not great. I am assuming no insulated liner then either?

Also explain to us how you are running the stove.

Well that's better than nothing but still not great. I am assuming no insulated liner then either?