Noob with Questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

HowlingMad

Dec 12, 2009
Massachusetts
There's probably a dozen of these in here somewhere, but I did honestly try to find the thread for noobs asking the same questions that have already been beaten to death. Please tell me if there's a better place for these types of questions.

Intent:
-Install a stand alone Harman SF 160 in my ~2000 sq ft shop using wood.

Background:
-Carpenter by trade with limited background in HVAC other than typical exposure. I'm comfortable with the basics of plumbing, but not heating (residential kitchen, bath installs, but no heat). I'd like to install this entirely myself if possible, and I would think with the help of a forum like this, I would be able to.

Environment
-~2000 sq ft shop
-~10 year old Harman SF160 (I think, need to find a tag tomorrow)
-three bays, all separate and insulated from each other.
-currently heat our 1200 sq ft house entirely with wood

Questions:
-stove pipe recommendations? I currently plan to use stainless, double-walled pipe. Height will be ~25' to cap.
-plumbing - too many questions, I'll need to come back to this later. This is the biggest unknown for me and I need to unpack the stove, study all the components and return with more questions.