Newbie Questions!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

fishing_ninja

Nov 11, 2016
ontario
Hey guys I have been reading alot on this site and found alot of great if so I will lay out my scenario for you guys and I think you will be able to help me out.<br So here's the issue. I am a total newbie to fireplaces. I have an old crappy fireplace I would like to change out for a more efficient one I picked up. Newbie Questions!
It is a prefab fireplace I believe. Newbie Questions!
This is the one I want to put in. My question now is what do I need to do to make this work.
Right now there is no hearth but the opening has a metal liner. I beleive it is directly on the sub floor. Can I pour a hearth inside the liner to achieve the requirements for masonary under the stove? I understand I might need to change the pipe aswell depending on what is there right now. Also the new stove is 31" hight and the opening is 36". I will need to raise it one way or the other. Can this be done and pass an inspection?
Or am I crazy?

Sent from my SM-G870W using Tapatalk

So basically is there any way to use a hearthmount stove in a non masonary fireplace opening and still be accepted?

Sorry, don't think so. What is this insert's make/model?

Thx. The label says it right up front - install in masonry fireplace only

Thank you. I did see that , I was wondering if there was any way to make it work. Thanks for the help. I will be back when I find a suitable insert