New guy with a venting conundrum

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

AppaVA

Dec 13, 2013
VA
Hello all. I have been browsing these boards for a couple of years. I have read "The Hearth Room" endlessly and driven my wife nuts perusing "The Pellet Mill". Finally--after endless debate--I have come to the relization that if I want to heat my home with some sort of stove it needs to be a pellet stove. This decision was made easier when my parents gifted me their Whitfield 20. Dont worry! They wont be out in the cold as the 20 was replaced by a 30 a few years back.

A little back ground. I grew up around wood stoves and coal stoves. As a youngun I toted a coal scuttle to stoke me grandparents Kenmore stove at night and carried out ash and clinkers the next morning after shaking the grates. I have css my share of firewood to feed the Virginian that was in the basement when I was growing up. It sounds crazy to some when I say I love the work but in my current situation I have no room and little time to keep a couple cords of seasoned wood and a couple cords of geen wood. A pellet stove is the obvious answer. This leads to my conundrum.