Maybe these catalytic combusters aren’t so bad?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Rob_Red

Feeling the Heat
Feb 2, 2021
Southern New England
3 cords have been burnt so far this year. I am new to this but this seems pretty clean?
Maybe these catalytic combusters aren’t so bad?

Reactions: Shrewboy
Looks real nice! Not even worth running a brush up that chimney. Wood must have been well seasoned too!

Reactions: savageactor7
Looks good on the bottom. How does the top look?
What stove? Can you add it to your signature line?

Reactions: MR. GLO
It took me 10 years of running a cat stove for 9 months per year to finally learn how to really get it to burn smoke free but my flue doesn’t stay that clean. Your flue looks like new. How do you do it?

Oh, the secret is seasoned, dry, fuel. Not even moistened by sideways rain. Shed wood.

Reactions: MR. GLO
So I’m far from an expert and frankly was surprised by this result. Not 100% sure how it looks from the top down as I don’t have a tall enough ladder on site to check. But the top looks pretty clean from the ground

here’s what I’ve been doing:

Stove is a new hearthstone green mountain 40

I gently soft bristle brush and vacuum the cat about once a month.

I do a top down start anytime the stove gets cold enough to not catch a split easily (no long smolders)

I burn the stove pretty darn hot and don’t choke it down to a smolder