Lopi Liberty Nextgen vs Blaze King Princess

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Pedersjo

Nov 4, 2020
Cougar WA
Good Morning,

I am in the final decision-making process for a wood stove and it has come down to either the BK Princess or the 2020 Lopi Liberty Nexgen. One is a cat, the other non-cat. Our home is 1300 square feet with a high cathedral ceiling, and we may be adding on a room down the road. This will be our main heating source. I am new to wood stoves, can you please chime in on what your preference would be for this situation?

Thank you,
John

Looks like you really have what many consider shoulder season type winter weather. Average lows in the 30's during the cold month's? If that is correct I'd sure consider the BK for it's nice 24/7 burning capability and smooth, steady heat output. The BK can go 24 hrs. The Liberty is rated at 12.
The Princess is easier to load N.S. which makes putting in a full load much handier in my opinion.
Both would likely do the job fine. Kind of tough to compare them as they are so different. There is a older Liberty in my circle I have been around for years. It works well but simply needs more tending.

I would not want a new model nexgen or whatever from any brand right now. Lots of new and unproven technology out since the 2020 emissions change. The BK is not a new design so you have the benefit of a reputation. To be fair there are some other brands that didn’t go wild with new tech. Take a look at PE for a noncat.