• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

crobinson.crane

Dec 19, 2023
Utah
Hello! After growing up using a wood stove at home, I really don't know too much and need some help here. I'm an owner builder of a new home construction (subbing out HVAC) and am trying to decide what stove to place in my basement. The house is about 2,300 SF each level, heated primarily with propane fired furnace. I'm planning to supplement heating with a wood stove being placed near the center of the basement in an approximately 700 SF family room. The flue and everything is in and we are working on finish work now and evaluating making this purchase. I had my HVAC contractor place two return air ducts above the fireplace to allow me to run the furnace on fan to help distribute the warm air from the downstairs fireplace.

I had a previous HVAC contractor recommend the Lopi Liberty as his #1 recommendation. I've been hoping for this stove, but I'm a little unsure for a few reasons. I wonder if those of you in the know could help me with a few questions.

Do you think the Lopi Liberty would be too large or put out too much heat for the space, even if I try to divert it through the house? What about the Quadrafire 5700 or Lopi Endeavor Nextgen-Hybrid? I like the idea of bigger logs and firebox, but I don't want to overdue it.

Do you have any other recommendations which you would direct me to regarding these 3 options or do you have other high quality and reasonable cost alternatives which I should consider?