Lopi Declaration scheduled to be installed today!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
  • Super Cedar firestarters 30% discount Use code Hearth2024 Click here
Status
Not open for further replies.

tamure

Hearth Supporter
Oct 2, 2009
N. Nevada
I'm very excited! :-) Here's to hoping / praying it all goes well. I got my little woodshed built and stocked with a cord of almond and a half cord of softwood. Fire ring stocked on the porch. Weather is finally starting to cool down, so I'm ready!

My main concern is that there may be an issue with clearance to the mantel, in which case the mantel will have to be raised. I'm a woodworker so I can probably do this without too much problem. I'm wondering if this is something I'll have to (or should) do myself, or if the installer will handle it. There is a heatilator vent thing in the middle of the mantel, which I assume would need some kind of sheetmetal ducting or something to move it up. Not sure how that's going to work.

Here's a pic of the current set up. Hopefully I'll be able to post "after" pics soon!

[Hearth.com] Lopi Declaration scheduled to be installed today!

Your NFI Certified installer probably took mantle clearances when he was there to site check the job prior to installation. That being the case, I would imagine they will make the needed provisions. Double check the clearances with the owners manual just in case afterwards.

Well, here is the after-pic. (Assuming my webhost is working... acting wonky tonight):

Try the attachment if this pic doesn't work. Grr.

So the black surround almost covers the vents on the side. It looks... well... stupid. :(