Looking for wood stove recommendation for 1000 sqft house

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Jslts

Aug 8, 2024
Vancouver Island
Hi, I'm new to wood stoves and looking for the right one for our new house.
It has a 28'X28' walk-out basement and the main floor is 28'X38', which makes it just over 1,000 sqft.
It'll be fairly well insulated and the ceiling height is 9'.
The kitchen, dining and living room area (less than 500 sqft together) is open concept and there'll be baseboard heaters in the bedroom, bathroom, office and sunroom.
I'm hoping to heat those rooms with the heat from the stove but I wouldn't mind using the baseboard heaters in addition.
We have LOTS of fir and alder already cut and stacked 2 years ago on our property, produced while clearing the lot, and we can harvest more.
I'm close to Vancouver, Canada and it doesn't get too cold in winter. It's usually above freezing except a few days around 20F's here and there. The coldest could be 10F once every few years.
I'm going to put a wood stove in the corner of the small living room (12'X13') and there will be a TV on the same wall.
So I'm looking for a small stove with tight clearance.
I like the look and the size of Drolet nano but the burn time is only 5 hours. I want to be able to keep the living room somewhat warm until the morning so I won't come out to the cold from the bedroom.
I also considered TN20.
Which would be a better choice for my situation?
Any other recommendations? Thank you.

Last edited: