Just about ready to buy one of the Jotuls

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

cbbaldwin

Dec 11, 2014
Watertown, TN
Rank newbie here. Never owned a stove and am having to learn all about wood and that too. I have a 300-sf garage office (one insulated stud wall and two concrete block (filled with concrete) walls and an insulated garage door) that I'm wanting to heat with a wood stove. It's not an office yet but I'm making it into one. I'll be working in there from about 8 to 5 and sometimes pulling some late nights. Here's my question. I've found a Jotul dealer I like and he's given me a good price on either the 602 or the F100. About $100 difference. I've read as many posts as I could find where people weighed the differences and which one works best. My planned location for the stove is in the back corner, which has a concrete floor and concrete block walls. I like the 602's style and for some reason think I might occasionally use the cooktop on the 602--but really I can't think what for at the moment. The F100 is handsome too but lacks the old world look of the 602 that I like (I feel bad bugging y'all with this question--but from the posts I've read you all kind of enjoy it). Which one should I get? The bigger glass and slightly longer burn times have some appeal in the F100, but it might be too much in the office, too.

By the way, thank you all for a great site. I know so much more now than I did two weeks ago.