Is this a lot of creosote

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Drabe95

Oct 30, 2017
CNY
I'm new to wood burning. I'm currently running a summers heat 50-shssw01. I have kept my propane furnace from running often but I checked my stove pipe and flue today and am wondering if the is a lot. I will admit that my wood is subpar. MC 25-32% mixed with pallet wood and seasoned cordwood with MC of 15-18%

Attachments

• Is this a lot of creosote
    IMG_2698.JPG
    162.7 KB · Views: 356
I’m not a pro, but you’re looking pretty good there. Looks like dry powdery stuff, which is good. I’m guessing this is the bottom of your setup. Can you view the top safely? Top is where you would be more apt to develop creosote.
Is there some shininess to the pipe there? It could be just the angle of the pic, but wanted to ask. Shiny creosote is problematic.

Last edited:
Not bad I’m burning unseasoned wood to moisture content of 20-30 % after a month a half of burning without any mixed seasoned wood or pallet wood I had about a sandwich bag and a half full just clean the chimney once a month you’ll be alright

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I forgot to mention this is after 1 month of almost nonstop burning. The roof is steel with a 8 or 9/12 pitch. Not exactly easy to get up and down

Anyway u can clean it from the bottom up that’s what I do with mine as my roof is steep and high as well so I do bottom up than go up top and make sure it’s good sometimes I just use one section of handle to clean the top if it needs a little extra love

8/9 pitch ain't bad. Make yourself a chicken ladder.