I need help !!!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Durantefarm

Jan 7, 2018
Ohio
we bought a Vermont casting insert Montpelier and sofar I hate it ! Had it for 3 days and I can’t figure it out ! It has a air control lever and blower switch . I can’t keep a good rolling fire for the life of me ! The glass has already turned black cuz it’s not burning hot . I have no idea what is going on .

I have zero experience with your model but the first thing that needs checked is fuel source. Epa stoves require seasoned, 20% moosture wood. This can be near impossible to find on a warm year and i imagine everything sold in the last month would be fresh split green wood. What is your wood source like? Do you have a moisture meter? Was this insert professionally installed? How do you start your fires? Hopefully someone with direct experience with the montpelier can chime in about air controls.

Last edited:
Reactions: Durantefarm
Issues with new stoves are often the result of wood with a high moisture content. Dirty glass and difficulty maintaining a fire are typical wet wood problems.

T
Issues with new stoves are often the result of wood with a high moisture content. Dirty glass and difficulty maintaining a fire are typical wet wood problems.