Help with a wood stove setup

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
  • Super Cedar firestarters 30% discount Use code Hearth2024 Click here
Status
Not open for further replies.

edwards1687

Jan 6, 2011
Allen, OK
Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie with wood stoves for the most part and I need some help figuring out what all I need to correctly and safely install a wood stove in my home. The house was all ready built to have a wood stove as it did by the previous owner. The chimney setup is half there I just need help finding the correct parts to finish the install and picking out a good wood stove. The chimney pipe that is currently there is a Temp/Guard Insulated pipe 11" OD/8" ID like this -
[Hearth.com] Help with a wood stove setup

This is the wood stove space setup I have in my house

I guess thinking I would need to go with something like this (broken link removed) and then an 8" to 6" increaser/reducer because the wood stove I am looking to buy has a 6" inlet. This is the wood stove I was looking at purchasing - http://www.northerntool.com/shop/tools/product_425015_425015

Please give me your feedback. Thanks!

your chimney looks ok depending on how old it is and how tall. you'll need to know how tall when you buy a stove to make sure that the stove will work with it's length.