Hearthstone Heritage Soapstone Wood Stove Help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

lizzm1234

Jan 6, 2021
Burke, VT
Hello!
I'm very very new to wood stoves, we have a 150yr old farmhouse in Vermont. We've spent the summer re-insulating the first floor (around 1500 sq ft). We do have some cold areas still. But we installed a Hearthstone Heritage Soapstone wood stove... I understand all the benefits of soapstone and the con of how long it takes to heat, the necessity of using well-seasoned wood and how to operate. I've tried watching a zillion youtube videos and reading here - but I'm burning through so much wood and we're barely feeling the heat when you step feet away from the stove. 20' away in the same room will be 45-50 degrees. Our chimney is also 2 months old and it's already needing to be cleaned... is this normal? Any ideas here would be so helpful!!

Welcome. By the description, my first thought was partially seasoned wood. But there may be other issues. Is there a stovetop thermometer on the stove and if yes, what temperature is it reading? How tall is the chimney?

Reactions: ozarkoak
Hello!