for your info--dealing with clinkers in pellet stoves

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

eernest4

Oct 22, 2007
ct
netzero.com
worth reading, even if it is a bit long.

this is only for the benifit of my critics, I realize that i am not an expert, yet, because i have no one to teach me, but maybe someday....you need not have to read or scroll further.

1 sentance sumary::(got clinkers?clean your ash trap under fire cup!) there you go. %-P

no body is twisting your arm to read more. :)

For those who appreciate me, or care to learn of the principles of opperation of a pellet stove, read on. :p
I run a pel-pro 50,000btu pellet stove & today it made a huge clinker in the right hand coner of the fire cup. I am burning premium softwood low ash pellets that are dry and I ran 3 bags through the stove previously with no clinkers.

Also, this is not the first time the stove has produced clinkers & I am begining to notice a pattern to clinker formation.

I never get clinkers after a stove clean out, that is, until after I burn 3 to 4 bags of pellets. Somewheres after the third bag and before the fourth bag is half consumed, the stove makes a clinker, either on the far right hand side or the far left hand side of the fire pot.

So, i take the fire pot out, after the stove has cooled down , and clean it in awesome spray cleaner and water. most times i also need to use a flat blade screwdriver as a scraper and a wire brush because the stainless steel fire cup is really filthy.