A Question on Cold-Starting a Fully Loaded Stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

High Desert Dennis

Nov 10, 2023
Yucca Valley, CA
Hey there.

I'm new to running a wood stove, and tonight I had one of those *holy chit* moments that I don't want to repeat, which is why I'm posting for advice. Kinda wordy, but bear with me please. 🙏

I can usually start a fire just fine using the top-down method. I put bigger hardwood splits/logs on the bottom (North-South), medium splits in the middle, fatwood sticks &/or paper knots on top. I use a propane torch to start it. I start with the door open a few inches to get a draft going, and have the air controller all the way open, then I shut the door and eventually ease it down to half-closed, mostly closed, even fully closed. Works like charm.

Thing is, I end up raking coals and adding splits/logs all night. I've read lots of posts on here where guys say they pack it full as they can (quote: "If I could put the stove on its back and pour the wood in, I would"). So I thought yeah, let's do that.

First time out it was fine because the stove was already somewhat warm, and I was conservative with how much I put in. Tonight, however, I filled the stove floor-to-ceiling (again, N/S orientation) and left-to-right, though I still left an inch or so in the front and back to allow clearance for the air intake at the front, and the tube at the back.