Woodstove insert & stovepipe - new to this

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
  • Super Cedar firestarters 30% discount Use code Hearth2024 Click here
Status
Not open for further replies.

neb2886

Dec 21, 2011
MD
Hi, this is my first time posting so please bear with me.

I was given an insert for my standard masonry fireplace. I'm currently making a block plate for the 8" pipe that comes off the top of it.

For budget reasons I can't afford a stove pipe to run the entire length of the chimney and out the top (seems to be quite expensive, unless I've been looking at the wrong thing).

My question, is it OK for this winter to install the block plate and run the 3 feet or so of pipe up the chimney into the first flue tile or are there some serious safety issues to take into consideration?

I had the chimney swept and inspected and the sweep said that there are no issues with the current liner.

Thank you.

You will be ok, when running to the first tile cleaning the pipe and chimney is a pain, and since this is your first year you will want to keep a close eye on it for creosote build up.

What insert do you have? How is your wood, has it been seasoned (split/stacked for a year)?

That's often referred to as a "slammer" install. The only things I can think of: 1.) check local codes to make sure it's not expressly forbidden; 2.) make sure it wouldn't void any terms of your home owner's policy; 3.) when you sweep the flue, you have to remove the insert. Welcome to the forums!

Thanks for the response.