Woodchuck 2900 Help!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Vipercar93

Mar 4, 2019
Wisconsin
We put in a woodchuck 2900 to heat our house, and I am new to heating a house with wood. We have a Nest thermostat and lately the stove has been blowing constantly, until there is not enough heat left and the blower shuts down. We have the thermostat at 72 and the house will regularly hit 80. We tried using it the other day in heavy winds outside and I must have overfired it, it hit over 800 on the flue temperature gauge with both doors shut. Normally the woodstove will run right around 200. From what I have been reading that is low.

I suspect there are multiple issues going on. I am in the process of reading through the forum stickies to help me understand what's going on in general. Thanks for trying to help me.

Not sure on exact issue. One part reads like not enough heat, another reads like too much?

I know nothing about these. But 800 makes it sound like you might have too much draft, for one thing. Which would require info about your chimney setup & maybe some pics.