Wood ID, please . . .

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

GreyMum

Nov 30, 2011
CT
Hi There,

I'm a newbie with a few questions today. Can anyone id this wood? I'm guessing it's ASH only because we have quite a few ASH trees in our yard, but otherwise, have no real basis for that uninformed guess! Thanks so much!

Attachments

• Wood ID, please . . .
    DSC_1617.jpg
    254.6 KB · Views: 670
Elm, most likely Grey Elm. Ash that size would split like a dream, I believe you try and split that it will be very stringy and tough!

Bark looks like oak, all the leaves on the ground are maple.

Definitely not ash. I'd agree on the elm.

EDIT: Welcome to the forum.

nrford said:
Elm, most likely Grey Elm. Ash that size would split like a dream, I believe you try and split that it will be very stringy and tough!

I think too it may be elm. I just cut an elm Monday, went out and looked at it just now, and it has identical patterns as shown.

Split some and you'll know for sure :)

I can't help on the id for that one, but you have a lot of red oak leaves along with the maple on the ground there.

Matt

Looks like a red oak variety to me. If elm, look at the bark where you made the cut (cross section) - if American elm - you'll see alternating white and brown layers to the bark - very obvious (if slippery (red) elm, alternating dark and darker layers). Cheers!

Is that a broken off limb? Top left of the pic looks like it broke.
Got a Pic of the tree it came of of?
I'm thinking it's oak.

Definately not Oak, Final answer ELM.

EatenByLimestone said: