will my chimney be tall enough? newbie here.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
  • Super Cedar firestarters 30% discount Use code Hearth2024 Click here
Status
Not open for further replies.

OrpingtonManor

Hearth Supporter
Jan 7, 2010
Bay Area, CA
I heat my 1200 foot bungalow with a Quadrafire Castile pellet insert 24/7. I bought a Morso 1410 nearly a year ago. This was to be a supplemental heat source at the opposite end of the house, but the project sputtered when I saw the price for installing a quality chimney pipe.

I finally ordered my Dura-Vent chimney pipe yesterday, but am concerned about it being tall enough. I'm concerned that I won't get enough draft for an EPA rated stove. The house is definitely not airtight. I have a very low slope to my roof, and the chimney will be running through a wall thimble. It will also need to make an offset to avoid the peak of the roof and allow a place to attach the wall straps.

The manufacturer recommends a 16 foot chimney, although it is not required. I have ordered enough chimney pipe to be 15 feet above the stove outlet. The roof is only 8 feet above the stove outlet. This leaves 7 feet above the roof. I know I need to use a brace at 5 feet above the roof. I am concerned that I won't have enough draft at this height. If I consider the small horizontal run out the back of the stove through the wall, and the offset, I know this shortens the effective height of the chimney. The offset jog is only a 2 foot section.