Which fireplace is best?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
  • Super Cedar firestarters 30% discount Use code Hearth2024 Click here

Homefry

May 10, 2021
Manitowoc
Hi! I'm new to the fireplace world. Just bought a house and we want to add a fieldstone fireplace. The house is 1000 square feet. We want to use the fireplace to heat the house, primarily. Stopped at a fireplace store and they had two inserts, Pioneer and Napoleon. I didn't find any reviews for Pioneer, but Napoleon got some bad reviews, mostly for a loud blower and the glass is hard to clean.

Need a little help, please. Which insert is the best in the market for our situation?

I want to add, we have three places where it can go in this ranch house. In the corner (#1), in the middle of the wall (#2), or we could do a double-sided (#3) so we could have it in our bedroom too. Is a double-side a bad idea? I heard it's too drafty.

Attachments

• [Hearth.com] Which fireplace is best?
    Floor Plan2.png
    117.6 KB · Views: 148
For heating the house and due to code, #3 is out, 1 or 2 will work, though you will have to measure and make sure there is enough room in space #1. I think you mean a Zero Clearance fireplace instead of an insert. An insert is inserted into an existing masonry structure. For a small home, you might also consider installing a freestanding stove on a nice looking hearth. That would not only save a lot of money, but some stoves qualify for the 25% tax credit, and that includes the full installation costs. You might also look at some 2 cu ft models from Astria, RSF, & Pacific Energy.