Vent Pipe Outside Vs. Inside

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Busy_Bosco

Apr 23, 2020
West Virginia
I'm wondering pros and cons.

I run my pipe straight out the stove, thru the wall, and about 5 feet vertical outside.

I notice most installs I see go out and up inside the home, than out the wall.

I know I'm losing some ambient heat, but am I missing something else? My vent configuration seems very unpopular.

I'm new to all this, just installed my stove today to avoid another season of heating a 2,000SF home on pure electricity.

I have TWO pellet stoves. One is vented up, then out. The other is vented out, then up.
The outside situation at the venting locations dictated that I install them this way.
Don't have any issues with either set-up, although the out then up is easier to sweep.

I have TWO pellet stoves. One is vented up, then out. The other is vented out, then up.
The outside situation at the venting locations dictated that I install them this way.
Don't have any issues with either set-up, although the out then up is easier to sweep.

My vent was also dictated by my layout. Good to know it's easier to clean.

I may extend the pipe another 10 feet up to avoid air intake on hvac unit.

Thanks for the feedback

Mine goes straight out then way up as well. I have a 3-4 transition Tee with cleanout outside. My vertical is 4" and it's 18 feet straight up with a pellet rain cap. I much prefer the outside transition Tee. Makes cleanout a snap with a leaf blower/ vacuum.