Used P61, What's My Next Step?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

GMadd

Oct 15, 2014
Highland, NY
Hi everyone. I bought an old Harman P61 on Craigslist for $75 after consulting with Don from East Coast Hearth (Thanks Don!). The previous owner told me that they think it needs a new combustion blower because they heard a thud then it started smoking. I'm totally new to Harman so don't know much about diagnostics. Suppose I should turn it on and see what happens? Or should I just buy a new combustion blower and hope that their guess is correct? Thanks.

Here's some photos from the Craigslist post: https://photos.app.goo.gl/16opTtVo1cYJBaGm9

Last edited:
I would remove the rear shrouds & get inside to take a look at what's in there. That's an old dog & probably needs a LOT of TLC.
Vacuum out the dust. Check the wiring & connections. See if there is any sign of damage. Before you start throwing MORE money at it, see if you can figure out HOW it works. Here's some info that may help you...

Attachments

• training-guides_pellet-stove-service (1).pdf
    2.2 MB · Views: 824
I would remove the rear shrouds & get inside to take a look at what's in there. That's an old dog & probably needs a LOT of TLC.
Vacuum out the dust. Check the wiring & connections. See if there is any sign of damage. Before you start throwing MORE money at it, see if you can figure out HOW it works. Here's some info that may help you...

Ok, I'll start there. Thanks!

Reactions: DAKSY