Used Husqvarna 353 or new Stihl MS271?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

illini81

Feeling the Heat
Apr 7, 2017
Southeastern CT
I am new to wood stoves, and am looking to buy a chainsaw. As much as possible, I will be scrounging for free wood rather than buying. From the preliminary research I've done, I like the Stihl MS271 - it seems to be a higher end homeowner saw. I also found a used Husqvarna 353 saw, which is labeled a "professional saw" (whatever that means...).

Without trying to get the price of the Husqvarna down at all, the saws are roughly the same price (~$350). It looks like the Husqvarna is no longer made, but the equivalent saw (Pro 550xp) is ~$640.

Is the used saw worth it, or does the risk that it was abused or is defective make it not worth buying used?

Thanks for the insight!

Despite not being a fan of Husqvarna saws, at almost the same displacement and price for used pro v new homeowner, I'd go with a good-condition used pro saw every time.

I'm not familiar with the 353, but I'm assuming it has AV and inertial chain brake? If not, I'd skip it.

Reactions: Jazzberry
$350 is REAL high for a used 353. Unless you're comfortable working on 2 cycles, probably better off buying new. Stihl prices are high on homeowner clamshells - like the 50cc MS271.
Lotsa options out there:
1. PP5020AV is a competent firewood saw for $125 refurb. You do need to learn how to turn carb.
2. Echo CS590 is a fine 60cc saw for ~$350 on sale.
3. Dolmar/Makita have pro saws in the 50cc & 60cc ranges for reasonable prices.
4. Husqvarna has 545 (50cc) and 555 (60cc). These are slightly detuned models of XP saws.