Thermostat for dummies, please help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

08specB

Mar 31, 2014
Ellington, CT
I have seen several threads about how people hookup honeywell or some kind of non Harman thermostat. Since I am a noob I would like it if someone could please explain to me the benefit of this and also how it works. I am getting my Harman XXV stove installed on 9/3 and as I understand on the side of the stove it has two tempature settings. If a thermostat is hooked up to the stove does it communicate wirelessly or does it need to be hardwired? What does/can the Harman thermostat do that others cant if anything?

Thanks

Jay

Go to top of forum,read "how your harman works" 3 times,study,then decide if you really need an external tstat.The built in system works great for most people.

Reactions: 08specB
I have been using the room temp probe that comes with the stove since I bought it. It works perfectly well, so I never felt the need to look into an external thermostat. Suggest using that for the first season so you can decide if it's worth any extra investment, chances are you will be happy with it.

Reactions: 08specB and Mt Bob
I have been using the room temp probe that comes with the stove since I bought it. It works perfectly well, so I never felt the need to look into an external thermostat. Suggest using that for the first season so you can decide if it's worth any extra investment, chances are you will be happy with it.
Using a P61A last year,
gotta say the built in thermostat works fine...