Son in law wants to install an insert

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

mark cline

Minister of Fire
Dec 20, 2012
Cattaraugus, NY
My son in law had mentioned he wants to install an insert before next winter. Due to the recent super cold over the last 4 days ,the house was not as comfortable as my daughter wanted .
I have heated with wood since 1981, but I have no knowledge of inserts. I know secondary air, large glass area and a large fire box are needed , so any information on what the forum recommends ,would be a great help.

Just noticed Goose Chaser 's thread on his looking for an insert, so I will be keeping an eye on that thread.

Just noticed Goose Chaser 's thread on his looking for an insert, so I will be keeping an eye on that thread.

Number one factor= how much does he want to spend?
Number two factor= you have to figure in the cost of a metal chimney or chimney liner for a masonry chimney.
Number three factor= how much space does he want to heat and how well insulated is that space?

The fireplace is in the living room , centrally located , about 24 x 14. It has a set of double french doors going into a dining room then kitchen after that. Other wall is another set of french doors leading to a large hallway and wide stair case to 3 bedrooms upstairs.
I had mentioned that $5 to $6K would not be out of order for the liner and insert. Install would be on me.
As far as heating , the room is large and has 2 large doorways, so the total heat output would not over heat the room.