Smoky smell from new stove when not being used

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

bostonstove

Aug 18, 2018
Massachusetts
Hi folks:

I'm a wood stove newbie. We just purchased and installed a Hearthstone Castleton woodstove in our 1970's New England Colonial house.

The stove was installed partially sitting inside a wood burning fireplace. About 1/3 of the stove is sitting in the firebox, and about 2/3 sitting on the hearth. The installers ran a stainless liner / stove pipe down my chimney flue and into the firebox and connected it to the back of the Castleton with a "T" elbow. The stuffed the original damper opening of the fireplace with Rock Wool insulation around the new stove pipe to seal up the original chimney from the new stove pipe liner.

The Chimney is an exterior chimney, located on the north side of the house (North east corner) and it does not get a lot of direct sunlight.