Run away stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

woodhog73

Minister of Fire
Jan 12, 2016
Somewhere cold !
Was having a discussion with a friend who burns an older non epa stove. He was asking me how easy my stove insert is to control air and if I had problems with " run away" burns.

I said no because when I turn my air down I get good secondary burn and medium to slow lazy blue and yellow flames. Lots of heat but medium slow flames nothing " run away" looking to me. But I'm still new at this.

What does a " run away " situation look like? He said his gets so bad at times the stove starts to turn red and it " warps" !! Sounds very unsettling to me. If my stove ever turned red or started to warp I would call the fire department !

So what would a run away stove look like if viewing through a glass door ? Can someone explain this term ? Thanks

You're friend is right there are some stove installs that can or are prone to run-away. Run-away meaning with air shut down fully stove temp climbs uncontrollably to over-fire temps. Usually happens with installs that have a very long chimney. But many stoves can be "made" to run-away if you're not using your head. Ex. if you load a stove full of kindling or load on a big hot coal bed. Even a full load of less dense or very dry wood it could happen. Many possibilities.

The key thing is an uncontrolled to the point of over-fire not just a temporary very hot fire that scares you a bit but can be ridin out.