Restoring Antique Stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

AmandaCobbWallace

Sep 18, 2019
Walter@1950
I am in the process of restoring an old wood-burning stove. If my measurements are correct, I need a 8” Oval by 5 1/2” wide pipe. The problem is finding a pipe with these exact measurements. This is my first time tackling a wood-burning stove. Any help or suggestions is most welcome. I am attaching pictures.
Thank you I’m advance!
a899faa8dd5ad2daaa4bdb43b93a219e.jpg
0d4743794e8551f2167ce8952b4184dd.jpg
64917a9ddfa3c2ea29b31664e1550f61.jpg
eaa04a26f4bad09a81b96b45757cbc7c.jpg
7343c2be1bb9e1fd0ac2d38ffb394413.jpg
d9a13f9fb044a7cfb738ec80666e66ae.jpg
0fbb7410bbf2d901ec101cc6616e3e7d.jpg
2d9e599ed4caa34d7e23d4064d663392.jpg
b2ddc6112174742f3cfc220b35751a55.jpg
5b39a82af6a75f2bd99b2a8bc7fc738e.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Try ovalizing a piece of 6" round pipe and see how that fits.

Reactions: AmandaCobbWallace
Either a 6 or 7" pipe will work ovalize one end keeping the other round

My 6 inch range oval measures 7 1/2 X 3 3/4, That works well with 6 inch ovalized.
To be sure, measure the oval with a fabric seamstress type measuring tape. 7 inch pipe measures 22 1/2 circumference. The oval should be about that at the bottom when tapered.

First, it's a coal burning range. You "can" burn wood, but don't expect holding a fire overnight and pieces need to be small.