Replace your cat probe thermometer

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Niko

Minister of Fire
Nov 12, 2013
Dutchess county, NY
ive been burning now for 4 to 5 years now and for the most part I love it. The learning curve for me is something that took a lil bit longer as im in the eastern north and only burn 24/7 for like 4 months out the year maybe 5. It took a while to master the wood and mositure contents, getting shorted for cord deliveries and pretty much making a mess and smoke spillage into the house lol. I can def say im way better and have it down to a science now. But just when i think i got my wood good, mositure good, getting a good price for wood(now i get log length) and keeping the house much cleaner i started getting confused on the activity of the cat. I was always seeing the cat in the inactive zone so i was turning my stove up to keep it in the active zone. Which in turn i was burning the wood much faster.

I have been complaining about the cat being non active now for about 2 seasons but the stupidity was on my part, last year i got a flue thermometer probe but never replaced my cat probe thermometer. I even took it to the point where i called my dealer up asking for a cat replacement under warranty. After some trouble shooting with Fransisco at Blaze King we came to 3 areas that might need attention, 1 the cat, 2 the thermostat and 3 the cat probe. I checked 2 and orderd number 3 from condor. BOOOOOOOOM what a huuuggggeee difference.