Regency i2450 worth the extra $$ over Century?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Drew3308

Oct 8, 2019
Michigan
Hello,

I have been researching wood inserts for awhile and a couple years ago I bought a Century CW2900 from menards for under $1000.

I recently moved and am looking to install another insert and again am comparing Regency to the lower end stoves and wondering if the Regency's are worth the extra $1300-$1500? I never had any issues with the Century other than the outer paint layer was chipping.

If there are other stoves I should be looking at please let me know. Been looking as Osburn, Napoleon's etc.

The Century is made by SBI. It is the sibling of Osburn and Drolet stoves and a good insert. What size insert are you looking at? Are there restraints due to fireplace size?

The Century is made by SBI. It is the sibling of Osburn and Drolet stoves and a good insert. What size insert are you looking at? Are there restraints due to fireplace size?
Looking for a medium sized, I do not have any size restrictions. I can fit a large in there if I wanted.

I am biased, but I feel like I bought the best of the best. I am glad I didn't cheap out. Just that feeling sometimes is worth it.