Refacing and Code Requirements

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

wittert

Nov 7, 2017
California
Hello,

I'm a newbie DIYer that has decided to reface our woodburning fireplace prior to the installation of a Valor gas insert. I've been doing a lot of reading to educate myself on the code requirements and it is my understanding that even though the fireplace will be converted to a gas insert, the wood burning requirements related to the hearth extension still apply (i.e. for a <6 foot fireplace the extension must project at least 16" from the opening and 8" on each side of the opening). My questions are:

1) Where do the 16" measure from? It taken from the outside? Or, if the facing material projects a little (in my case 4 inches) is the measurement from the beginning of the facing. In my situation, the fireplace does not currently meet code. It is either 8" or 12" depending on where the proper measurement is taken. See photo.

2) We decided to get a permit and will be having an inspector for the gas line installation for the new gas insert. The refacing of the fireplace is not part of the permit scope (I did ask and confirm this when obtaining the permit). I'm based in California. What is the likelihood that the inspector will require the hearth extension to be extended to the full 16"? Depending on the answer to question 1, that could involve building out an additional 4" to 8" of additional hearth extension.