Rebuild or replace metal chimney

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
  • Super Cedar firestarters 30% discount Use code Hearth2024 Click here

cawebdude

Sep 22, 2024
California
We have a cabin at 7500 feet in the CA Sierras. My metal chimney flue was crushed by snow. We are getting the roof redone and looking at options to repair or replace the chimney. The pipe is an old Duravent pipe 19" in diameter with a 13" inner pipe. They built a huge metal box and cricket on the roof to protect against the snow, but it finally got crushed after 50 years. As an amateur, I see 3 options. 1) Try to fix it and reuse most of it. Maybe replace the snow cricket. 2) Replace everything on the roof and try to marry new pipe to the old one. 3) Replace the whole flue- but not sure how to do that since it goes into a concrete hearth.
Any ideas or suggestions from the forum? I would prefer a nice clean chimney installation to go with the new roof, but not sure I can get parts to marry the old and new pipe. I'm leaning towards just trying to fix it, but the roofer doesn't like that option.

[Hearth.com] Rebuild or replace metal chimney[Hearth.com] Rebuild or replace metal chimney[Hearth.com] Rebuild or replace metal chimney[Hearth.com] Rebuild or replace metal chimney[Hearth.com] Rebuild or replace metal chimney

The amount of snow that fell in the Sierras was astounding. I suspect there was a lot of damage like this up there. How long was it before access to the cabin was possible?