Real world burn rate - splits per hour?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Amin1992

Feeling the Heat
Oct 9, 2019
PA, USA
Hey guys, curious on this one. It's my first year with a wood stove and now that we're into deep winter my draft is definitely stronger, and as a result I'm burning wood faster.

I know this varies all over the map. But even with different species, different outdoor temps, NS or EW placement, and different sizes of logs (from 2.5" to 6" diameter) I'm getting generally the same burn times.

Best case, I'm getting a burn rate of 0.8 splits per hour. Worst case, I'm at 1.5 splits per hour.

Either way this feels like it's too fast. Am I wrong or is this normal?

I'm starting the clock the moment I get the fire going with kindling, and stopping it when the flame disappears and I'm down to hot coals.

I'm calculating this by just dividing out the splits I throw in by the hours it burns (for example, burned 5 splits in 3 hours today, so 1.6 splits per hour).

Is that normal? This is with the air dampened all the way down, and no blower on.

I constantly hear of guys getting 8 to 10 hour burn times and I just don't get how that's possible!

Thanks all

How big is a split? How long is a rope? What stove and set up do you have? What specie of wood?

How big is a split? How long is a rope? What stove and set up do you have? What specie of wood?
Hey pal thanks for commenting. Like I said, it doesn't seem to have a meaningful difference for me. I get about 0.8 splits/hr with splits that are just 3" thick, and 1.5 splits/hr with 5" splits.

Anywhere from about one split an hour to one every 5 hours