Question about cleaning

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
  • Super Cedar firestarters 30% discount Use code Hearth2024 Click here
Status
Not open for further replies.

woodsprite

Hearth Supporter
Nov 14, 2009
sudbury, ontario
Newbie here...wondering how often to get my chimney cleaned professionally? The dealer who sold me my stove said once a year, but being so new to burning I have had more than a couple of smoldering fires. I am getting to know my stove much better now, and think I am using it much more efficiently. Do you think I should get it cleaned or inspected now due to my less than efficient fires when I was first figuring out my stove? (I got my stove Nov 5) Also, the user's manual that came with my stove (pacific energy spectrum classic) says to check once a week for creosote buildup...how the heck would I do that?

Are you saying you've been using your stove for less than a month? I'd not worry about the chimney no matter how bad my burning technique is/was. But that's me, and you have to decide what's best for you.

I have 6" double wall pipe..you will see the configuration in the pic...going into a chimney liner. I have a two story home...stove is one main floor...luckily a masonry chimney went right thru the centre of the house making for nice placement of the stove.

Attachments

• [Hearth.com] Question about cleaning
    IMG_0033.jpg
    12.5 KB · Views: 500
  • [Hearth.com] Question about cleaning
    IMG_0032.jpg
    10 KB · Views: 514