Quadrafire Classic Bay 1200i Feed Gate Adjustment

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

xSpecBx

Sep 17, 2014
Ledyard, CT
I have a CB 1200i burning okanagan gold. I have found that to get the flame to the required height I need to have the feed gate adjustment fully open. Does these seems normal?

How consistent should the flame be? It will be in the 4" to 6" range then the flame will get smaller (maybe 2" or 3") than go back to the required height when more pellets get fed in. This makes sense to me since the pellets are burning then being added. Just want to make sure. im new to this so I have no clue what is normal and what isn't.

The flame will fluctuate to those measurements. Sounds normal. Having to have the feed adj. rod open all the way doesn't. Lot depends on the pellets being burned though. Curious as to what number setting your control box is on? kap

Typically the longer the average pellet length the more open the feed gate needs to be to achieve the correct flame height, which on the high setting should be in the 4 - 6" range above the fire pot. And yes, the flame will normally fluctuate in height as the auger feeds the pellets at a somewhat variable rate.

Oakie pellets, when I burned them weren't inordinately long, but they were pretty dusty with lots of fines. Perhaps the bottom of the hopper at the auger pick-up area is full of sawdust and smaller pellet fines that are reducing the amount of regular - sized pellets that your auger can move ?

Reactions: kappel15