Proper firing/operating technique.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
  • Super Cedar firestarters 30% discount Use code Hearth2024 Click here
Status
Not open for further replies.

mgh-pa

Hearth Supporter
Nov 19, 2009
Northcentral PA
I'm new to wood heat (sort of). Growing up, my parents had wood heat for most of my childhood. I helped split, stack, load, etc, but I never really had to do much in the line of firing and maintaining the existing fire. I know my dad never used a temp gauge on the stove surface, he just more or less knew the stove's performance characteristics from past experience. I'm curious, and I'm assuming it's stove specific somewhat, what's the proper firing technique? Obviously you want to open the draft quite a ways for the initial burn, and then monitor the temperature? If so, what temp? Is it stove specific? Does the thermometer location matter?

The few fires I've started in the stove since we installed it back in late October burn well, but I'm just wondering if there's an even more efficient method of starting and operating the fire to get the best heat and least amount of creosote buildup.

It does depend on the stove so let us know what kind of stove you are burning and you will get much more specific advice.