Pipe safety

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

nhdeb

Jan 30, 2018
New Hampshire
I have a Dutch West in the basement. A friend who does furnace installation installed a 12" ductwork pipe that comes off the top of the stove and up to a register in the floor. It registers 170 degrees coming out of the register and the floor is hot. Should I do something different?

Last edited:
Yes, the stove is not a furnace and what the "friend" did is not up to mechanical or fire code. If in doubt, ask your local fire marshall and insurance company.

I think that would make me very nervous. I'm not a code expert, but it just sounds like a bad idea. I have heard of registers with thermostatic dampers that close when too hot, but I doubt if that would solve this issue and may even prevent what you are trying to do. In fact, if a register closes, it could cause even more heat build-up nearby with that duct continually trying to pump heat up there.

Just me, but I wouldn't keep it that way, no way.

Reactions: nhdeb
If the register is directly above the stove, could you remove the duct and let the heat rise through the register on it's own?

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

If the register is directly above the stove, could you remove the duct and let the heat rise through the register on it's own?

that's the way I used to have it, but all the heat was staying in the basement , not really rising. The ductwork gets the heat upstairs nicely. I just don't want to burn down my house