Pellets Over Flowing all of a sudden

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

tpatten

Hello All,
I'm new to Hearth and Pellet Stoves but was hoping you may have some insight.

I recently purchased a used Englander 55-SHPEP Pellet Stove and have it heating a new bonus room above the garage that is not fully insulated yet. It's an 800 sq ft room with high ceilings that seems to heat like a 1,500 sq ft room.

When I first got the pellet stove it worked great, no issues at all! I loved the thing, kept the a garage at 65º while it was 30º outside without issue. Now we are having a bit of a cold spell... -20º outside and it's not keeping up well (as to be expected). The issue I'm having is I will leave it overnight and come back to check in the morning and the pellets will be overflowing with unburned pellets. To solve this I've been turning the feed rate down but now it's all the way down to 4-5 out of 9 and it's struggling to keep the room above 40º.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to why this might happen? I know one factor is I do not have an OAK on it and don't currently have the money to purchase one though I have yet to actually find the advantage of an OAK, especially in my very draft garage that has no issue getting fresh air to the stove.

Greatly appreciate any help, thank you all in advance!

It may need a good thorough cleaning, pot, pasages behind impingement plate, combustion blower and impeller, stove pipe top to bottom. After thats done let us know how its burning. I wouldn’t worry about an OAK just yet.

Last edited: